Road Trip to Mount St. Helens

As if we hadn’t already travelled enough, Luvy and I took a day trip down to Mount St. Helen’s yesterday.  It was well worth the trip.  We loved getting to see other parts of Washington.

We stopped in Olympia for breakfast.  I love Urbanspoon, because it helped us to find a really cool breakfast spot there in Olympia.  We stopped in at New Moon Cafe (I half way expected Bella and Edward to be there) for a delicious breakfast. 

Luvy got the French toast, and I got a tofu scramble.  I am going to be in big trouble for my LEAP diet after this trip.  Soy is a red item for me(meaning do not eat) and I have been eating my weight in soy this trip. 

I have found that Washingtonians (at least the veggie and vegan ones) eat a TON of tofu, tempeh, and other soy products.  However, they sure are good.  🙂

Once we filled our bellies, it was back to the road.  The road to Mount St. Helen’s was long and very winding. 

The views were just breathtaking.

Once there, the clouds covered St. Helen’s for the most part, but it was still beautiful. 

You can see the destruction still here surrounding the mountain.

On the way back, we stopped miles away and you can see where the lava and debris flowed down the mountain causing destruction.

I have come to the conclusion that Washington is a beautiful state!  It may be a bit on the chilly side for my liking, but beautiful nonetheless.

The road trip was a perfect idea, because my legs are still sore from all the walking we did the day before!

By the time we got home, we were starving!  We decided that since we had been in the car all day and only had trail mix and PB and banana sandwiches for lunch that we would treat ourselves to a nice dinner out.

We settled on Tamarind Tree, which is a Vietnamese restaurant.  I had called ahead and they said they could definitely cook me something with no oil.  However, once we got there that wasn’t the case.  I ended up not being able to eat my entrée because it was so greasy.  I ended up with a salad, and even that was oily!  How in the heck do you make a greasy salad???  It befuddles me.  So far, Chaco Canyon has been our only homerun this trip.  Maybe I’ll get to go back!  (fingers crossed!)

How is y’alls week going??  Do you miss us yet??

Leave a Reply

