Cocoa for Dinner

You would think I would be on top of my blogging this week considering it is my one year anniversary!

School and life have gotten so busy that I’m still trying to catch myself.  If you find my mind, please return it!

I know I have talked to a lot of you about wanting quick weeknight meals that don’t take forever to get on the table.  I think it is so easy for us to eat unhealthy during the week, because we are tired and don’t have the time to cook.  I work full-time too.  Trust me, I know!!

My favorite things in the winter are soups, stews, and comfort foods.  Lucky for me, these are all things that cook well in a crockpot, AND they freeze well!

I highly recommend cooking up big batches of things on the weekends and freezing the leftovers for a quick weeknight meal!

A while back, one of my favorite bloggers made a cocoa chili, but I was going through the LEAP program and couldn’t try it at the time.

Anything that has chocolate in it, I’m up for trying.  Luvy and I have been nuts all week, so this crockpot meal was much needed!  I was a little apprehensive at first to try cocoa chili, but I did it anyways.  The verdict:  fantastic and Luvy approved.

I made some changes to Ashley’s recipe, which you can find here.

Crockpot Cocoa Chili

  • one onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes with liquid (I use toms with no added salt)
  • 1 can tomatoes with diced green chilies with liquid
  •  1 Tablespoon chili powder
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 teaspoons of cumin
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 to 1 teaspoon black pepper (add to taste)
  • 4.5 cups or 3 cans of beans rinsed and drained (I used organic chili beans-not drained, black beans, and kidney beans)
  • 1 teaspoon succant
  • 2.5- 3 cups of vegetable broth (I added 3 because I was letting it cook for 6 to 7 hours)

Add all ingredients into crockpot.  I set ours on low for 6.5 hours.

I’m going to clue you all in on a little secret I have.  At Trader Joe’s they have these nice frozen cubes of garlic!  I added in two of these.  It keeps my fingers from smelling like garlic, plus saves a ton of time!  No one wants a dental hygienist with garlic fingers!

It was perfect.  I ended up adding a little more water, because I wanted it a little soupy for our cornbread!  Without a little more broth, the cornbread wouldn’t be as good with it.  Who wants chili with no corn bread???

So go now, dust off those crockpots and allow it to make you a nice dinner!

Besides, it makes great weekday lunches when you have no time to make something or you have a working lunch (like me!).

Tomorrow is the last day of Luvy’s PhD seminars!!  I see the light!

Leave a Reply

