Gluten and the Happy Belly Drink

Two nights in a row!!   I can’t believe I am actually getting a post up again tonight.

Today I turned in a paper and I feel so relieved!  One paper and one final exam to go…  I can almost smell the freedom!

This weekend, we got our Christmas decorations out and the Christmas tree up, but we still haven’t decorated yet!  🙂  Baby steps…

However, we did go to our first Christmas party tonight!  It was so fun to hang out, plus Luvy played the guitar and sang.  (Swoon)  People ask if he sings all the time here at home.  Just so you all know.  The answer is no.  I wish!  We are much too busy.

I promised you all that I would explain a little more about what gluten is and why I think it bothers me.  For the short answer, gluten is a protein found in wheat, oats, barley, and rye.  It is in oats due to contamination, so you can buy gluten-free oats.  (Thank heavens!)

I know it has become fashionable to go “gluten-free”.  I AM NOT doing this to be on a bandwagon or to “get healthy”.  There is nothing wrong with gluten unless you have celiac disease or are gluten intolerant.  You can be tested for celiac if you think that you have a gluten problem.  WebMD has some great information if you think you might have a gluten problem.  Go here for a list of symptoms you might experience with a gluten problem.  Even if you do not have celiac, you can still be gluten intolerant.  The only way to tell that is to remove gluten from your diet and to see if you your symptoms get better.  This is what I’m doing.

If you think gluten may be a problem for you, make sure you get tested for celiac disease.  This can be a serious problem.  Don’t cut gluten out of your diet until this test has been done otherwise it will be inconclusive.

I am going to start eating some gluten here in a couple of days to see how my body reacts.  Hopefully my body will be able to handle it in small or moderate proportions.

To help aid in digestion and to soothe my tummy, I have been drinking a wonderful happy belly drink.  I got the basic idea from Dr. Axe.  You drink this first thing in the morning before you eat anything.

Happy Belly Drink

  • 12-16 ounces of warm water
  • 1/2 lemon 
  • 1-2 Tbsp unfiltered apple cider vinegar
  • stevia to taste

Start out with just 1 Tbsp of apple cider vinegar to see how you do.  Squeeze lemon into cup and add in vinegar and water.  Stir in stevia.  I usually use an entire pack.

I like to drink mine with a straw because this is a pretty acidic drink, and I want to protect my teeth.

Give it a shot and let me know how it works for you all!

What did you all do this weekend??  Have you started your Christmas shopping?

Leave a Reply

