Just like old times

You know when you haven’t seen a close friend for a long time, but as soon as you see each other it is like you haven’t missed a moment?  It is like that with Jen and me.  

Jen and I have been best friends since kindergarten.  We were inseparable our entire lives.  We even told people we were twins when we were little, and we would get mad if one of our parents told people otherwise!  🙂

I am ashamed to say that we haven’t seen each other since her wedding on May 31, 2008!  Almost 4 years.  Neither of us know where the time went.  It didn’t feel like it had been that long since I had seen her.  That is what is so special about our friendship.  No matter how long it has been since we have seen one another, it’s like nothing has changed.  However, it felt so good to talk to her in person rather than on the phone. We met up for lunch at Ruby Tuesday’s, and talked more than we ate!

I have been feeling really down lately, and she is just what I needed today.  I love how we can both speak so candidly about things, and how we share our struggles with one another.  I need more of her in my life.  She was a breath of fresh air today.

While I was having girl time, the boys- Luvy, Daddy, and Michael headed off to Lowe’s.  Daddy hung some with them, but he mostly rested.  Last night, the microwave just stopped working, so they went and ordered a new one.  🙂  Plus, Michael and Luvy did our last-minute grocery shopping for our Christmas dinners.

When we got home, it was pie making time!  My family has always been famous for their chocolate peanut butter pies.  The recipe has been passed from generation to generation.  However, I can’t eat it because of the milk and butter involved.  So, I veganized it!

I had little elves helping me with the pie.

I think they just wanted a bite, but they will have to wait!

Recipe to come tomorrow if it passes the taste test!  

Are you all ready for Christmas?  We still have to wrap presents!

 

Leave a Reply

