Resolutions

I am not much of a “New Year’s Resolution” person.  I have never made resolutions, because I never saw the point.

I tend to be more of the ‘if something needs to change then change it now’ type person.  I don’t see a reason to wait until the new year to make a change.  

(source)
With that said, I know many of you are resolution people.  So, I thought we would chat a bit about resolutions and how to succeed in your goals.

First of all, I think it is important to think through your goals in detail.  Don’t just jump into something because it sounds good.  Your ultimate goal may be to lose 100lbs, but you don’t have to do that in one year.  By setting huge goals, you are setting yourself up for failure.  Set reasonable goals!

Also, know that change will be hard.  None of us like change.  We are creatures of habit.  It takes time to change our behaviors.

(source)

Know that relapses will happen, and have a plan for when it does happen.  There will be times when you go back to old behaviors.  That is okay, just get back up and start over.

While Luvy and I were in Cincinnati, we discussed where we would like to improve and change in our lives this next year.  So, I guess we ended up setting some “New Year’s Resolutions” after all.

Above all else, our biggest resolution is to follow God and grow closer to Him every day.

There are some resolutions that are extremely personal that I won’t share, but here are some of our resolutions that we have for the both of us:

  1. Rest more.
  2. Entertain more in our home.
  3. Pray more together.
  4. Have a mutual prayer list.
  5. Weekly devotions.
  6. Spend more time with other couples.

For me personally, I came up with a few resolutions for myself:

  1. Better control stress.
  2. Spend more one on one time with our college girls.
  3. Spend more time with other Godly women.
  4. Keep in better contact with friends.
  5. GRADUATE.
  6. Do more yoga/ pilates. (stretch more!)
  7. Don’t spend as much time in the kitchen.  (I cook way too much!)
  8. Relax!

Luvy and I both tend to be busy bodies, and we don’t ever take the time to just rest and relax.  We are always thinking of the ceiling fans that need to be dusted or the car that needs to be washed or _________ (fill in the blank).  What we have both come to realize is that no matter how hard you work, there will always be something left to do.

Do you all set New Year’s Resolutions?  What are some of yours?

Above all else, I pray that you chose to follow God and to love Him more everyday of this New Year!

Leave a Reply

