Blueberry Doughnuts with Chocolate Peanut Butter Glaze

I have been drooling over MamaPea and Ashley’s doughnuts for months!  I finally got a doughnut pan for Christmas, and I finally got the chance to put it into good use this weekend.

Luvy chose blueberries for the filling, so I went to work.  On Saturdays, I like to workout in the mornings so I knew I wanted to include protein powder into the doughnuts.  (Excluding this Saturday when I was completely useless and had a PJ Saturday!)

The protein was just extra ummph this Saturday…even though I didn’t need it!

*If you don’t have a doughnut pan.  Don’t fret my pet… just double the recipe and make muffins!  🙂

Protein Blueberry Doughnuts (inspired by MamaPea’s Pumpkin Protein Doughnuts)

  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour (or unbleached all-purpose flour)
  • 1/3 cup vanilla protein powder (I used vanilla Sunwarrior Warrior Blend)*
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 packet of stevia
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 3/4 cup milk (I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk)
  • 1 cup blueberries (fresh or frozen)–I used frozen

*If you don’t want to use protein powder just sub 1/2 cup of flour.

Preheat oven to 350.

Mix together dry ingredients in a large bowl.  In a smaller bowl, mix together applesauce and milk.  Slowly stir in milk mixture into flour mixture.  

Carefully stir in  blueberries. (I ran out of blueberries, so I had to use some blackberries)

Spoon batter into greased doughnut pan.  Bake for 15 minutes or until doughnuts are cooked through.  I used the toothpick method.

For the topping, I did a chocolate peanut butter glaze.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Glaze

  • 2 Tbsp chocolate chips 
  • 1 Tbsp peanut butter
  • splash of milk (I used almond)

Melt your chocolate chips in the microwave or a double broiler.  Stir in peanut butter and thin out as necessary with milk.  Do not get it too thin or it will run off of doughnuts.

Spread over doughnuts.  Eat.  Have food bliss.

These are wonderful, and they are super quick to throw together.  I have a feeling my doughnut pan will be busy on the weekends!

These doughnuts also make for a great snack throughout the day, because they are full of whole grains, protein, and fruit!  Feel free to leave the topping off and just serve plain, with maple syrup, or with any kind of nut butter.

What is your favorite kind of doughnut?

One thought on “Blueberry Doughnuts with Chocolate Peanut Butter Glaze

Leave a Reply

