Chowda

These cold, gloomy, rainy winter days make me want soup.  I don’t think Luvy and I have had a meal that isn’t eaten out of a bowl in weeks!

When it is cold out, I want warm soups or stews.  I love comfort foods!  A while back, I saw Emily make Quinoa and Bean Corn Chowder, and I knew that I wanted to make it!

Since I am crazy and have a ton of allergies, I changed up her recipe a bit.  However, it has turned into Luvy and my’s favorite soup!  It is wonderful.

Quinoa and Corn Chowder (based off of Emily’s Quinoa and Bean Corn Chowder)

  • 3/4 cup of quinoa
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 large parsnips, chopped (can sub carrot)
  • 1 carrot, chopped
  • 1 cup sweet white corn (mine was frozen)
  • 1 1/2 cups roasted corn (or just sub yellow corn)
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 can pinto beans, drained and rinsed
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 2 cups unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 Tablespoons nutritional yeast
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro

Start by toasting your quinoa and cumin seed in a dry pan over medium heat.  Don’t allow to burn.  You just want them to get fragrant.  Should take 4-5 minutes.  Set this aside once done.

Spray a large dutch oven or use a bit of olive oil to sauté your onion, carrot, parsnip, and corn.  Sauté for about 5 minutes or until they start to soften.  Add in garlic and sauté another 2-3 minutes.

Add in the broth and almond milk.  Bring it to a boil and add in beans, quinoa, and nutritional yeast.  I also added in 1/2 tsp of salt here as well.

Cover and simmer on low for 15-20 minutes.  Stir in 1/4 cup of chopped cilantro.  Taste and add salt as needed.

Serve.  

YUM!

Hope you all have a wonderful Friday tomorrow!  Stay dry!

Leave a Reply

