“Feel Sorry for Me” Soup

What a day!  I still feel like I’m trying to catch myself!

My day started out with my appointment to the orthopedic for a verdict on my knee.  What I thought was going to be a quick and simple appointment turned into me getting another cortisone shot!

The good news is that he says I don’t have a torn meniscus.  The bad news is that they don’t know what is wrong.  Not much of a verdict, but I’ll take not having anything torn!

From there, I raced off to my meeting with a professor of mine.  I was there until 1:30- good thing I like her!!  🙂

Then, I had to run to two different offices PLUS Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods before lunch.  I finally broke down and bought lunch at Whole Paycheck at 3pm.  At that point, I was considering eating the cardboard box!

Since I”m not allowed to do any activity on my knee for 2 days, I came home and iced my knee like a good girl.

Don’t judge the monkey pj’s and fuzzy socks.  My knee hurts remember??

The swelling and pain is starting to set in a bit, so I decided I would make a “I’m being a big baby so feel sorry for me dinner”.

Luv’s Feel Sorry For Me Soup

  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 4 stalks of celery, chopped
  • 2 cans of diced tomatoes
  • 1 large bag of mixed veggies or 5 1/2 cups of mixed veggies
  • 1 can white beans- your choice
  • 1 quart of broth
  • 1 quart of water
  • 1/2 cup uncooked pasta
  • 1/2 bag of collard greens
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 tsp each of basil, oregano, parsley
  • salt and pepper to taste

Spray a large pot with cooking spray and cook onion, garlic, and celery until soft.  Add in the broth and water, tomatoes, and seasonings.  Simmer for 10 minutes.

Add in all other ingredients except pasta and greens.  Cook for 30 minutes.

Add in pasta and greens.  Cook additional 8-10 minutes or until pasta is cooked.

Serve up with a nice piece of toast.  And an ice pack.

Happy Weekend!

2 thoughts on ““Feel Sorry for Me” Soup

Leave a Reply

