Switching it up

Since I can’t run anymore, I’ve been having trouble with getting bored with my exercise routine.

I love to spin, but I refuse to pay for a gym membership.  So, I have been trying out workout DVD’s.

Insight used to have free workouts On Demand, but that is gone now.  I am still bummed about that!

When I first got hurt, I decided to keep up with my high intensity exercise, and I took on Shaun T’s Insanity program.

(Source)

Let me just say, this program is NOT for the faint of heart or for a beginner.  This was literally insane!  I love it though.  Whenever I need a good workout, I still pop in one of the videos.

It comes with a two sets of discs, a nutritional plan (which I didn’t follow), plus a workout planner/calendar.  The first set of DVD’S are used for the first 30 days and then you move up to the second set.

The first set is about 40 or so minutes long, and it pushes you.  The second month is an hour-long and it pushes you until you can go no more!

I loved having the calendar tell me exactly what to do and not having to plan out a workout.  Now, I understand the importance of weight training along with cardio, so I wish that there was more weight training involved.

There are push-ups, squats, and things like that but nothing that is going to really tone you up.

There is a 16 minute ab workout that Shaun T also includes, and it is great!  Your abs will definitely be feeling the work!

This is just my two cents on Insanity.  I am not a personal trainer.  Please always consult your physician before trying any new workout program.

I quit doing Insanity a few months ago, because I felt like my body needed a break from the high intensity workouts.  I had been looking for a new DVD set, and I finally found one to try out.  Time to switch things up!

My new set is Bob Harper’s Inside Out Method.  Here we go…

Have any of you tried Insanity?  What is your favorite workout or workout DVD?

Leave a Reply

