Spring has Sprung

The weather was beautiful here today!!  It felt like spring/summer.  My body has been craving the warm sunshine!

Since it was so pretty at lunch, I wanted a nice big salad.  I didn’t want anything hot.  This always occurs when the weather turns warm.  I want fresh juicy foods instead of warm and comforting foods.  Are any of you this way??

Anywho, I have been craving hummus, so today was my perfect opportunity to make some!  This is my go-to recipe for hummus, and I love it.  I like it so much better than store-bought, because you can add whatever seasonings you want to it.  Plus, it is a heck of a lot cheaper!  (and no weird ingredients!)

Hummus

  • 1 can chickpeas, rinsed and drained or 1.5 cups cooked
  • 1 Tbsp tahini
  • 2 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 tsp garlic
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 1/3 cup of water

Add all ingredients into a food processor.

Process until smooth.  You may have to stop your processor and scrape down the sides a few times.  I did.

Feel free to add more water if you want a more creamy texture.  I wanted mine a little thick to eat on chips and veggies.

It looks like the warm weather is here to stay for a bit.

Luvy and I broke out the grill tonight.  I wish we had some patio furniture so that we could eat on the deck.  That is a must-get this year!! (notice: this is a hint, Luvy)

Luvy grilled the asparagus and tilapia, and I took care of the quinoa and cauliflower.  The tilapia was to die for.  Luvy knows how to work the grill!

After dinner we went for a walk in the neighborhood.  I’m sure I scared all my neighbors with my bright white legs.  Yikes!

Hope you all enjoyed the fantastic weather like we did today!

Leave a Reply

