Eating Irish

This soup was fantastic!  I have a feeling that we might be going Irish more than just on St. Patrick’s Day!

Luvy and I both loved this soup and bread.  The bread was a little too sweet for our liking with the soup, but on its own, I ate 1/3 of it!  It is to DIE for!!

Irish Potato and Cabbage Soup with Lentils

  • 1 cup lentils
  • 1/2 head of cabbage
  • 2-3 red potatoes
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 tsp caraway seeds
  • 1 Tbsp parsley
  • 6-8 cups vegetable broth- depending on how soupy you want it

Saute onion and garlic until softened.  Add in potatoes, lentils, cabbage, seasonings, and broth.  

Let it simmer for 45 minutes or until lentils and potatoes are cooked through.

We like our soup pretty soupy so that we can soak it up with bread.  Bread makes me happy!

I found a recipe for gluten-free Irish Soda bread on a new to me blog, gluten-free goddess.  I have fallen in love with her blog.

I slightly changed the recipe.

Gluten- Free Irish Soda Bread (adapted from gluten free goddess)

  • 2/3 cup Pamela’s Ultimate Baking Mix 
  • 1/2 cup tapioca flour
  • 1/2 cup rice flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/3 cup light brown sugar
  • 2 tsp caraway seeds
  • 2 eggs- I used egg replacer
  • 3/4 cup of almond milk with 1 tsp lemon juice added (or 3/4 cup of buttermilk)
  • 3 Tbsp applesauce
  • 1 Tbsp oil (I used sunflower)
Preheat oven to 350.
Mix all dry ingredients together in a large bowl.  In a smaller bowl, mix wet ingredients.  Slowly mix wet into dry.
Oil and lightly flour a 8 in round cake pan.  Put batter into the pan and make a round loaf.  Use a knife to score the bread in an X.  Lightly dust top of loaf with flour.
Bake for 30 minutes or until it is cooked through.
This was great, but next time I will cut down on the amount of sugar.  My Pamela’s baking mix already had sugar included, so I think that is why it was a little too sweet.
However, this bread will be making another appearance in this house!
Hope you all had a great weekend! 
One thought on “Eating Irish

  1. Both the soup and the bread look good! Do you like Pamela’s Baking Mix? I’m always kinda skeptical of gluten free flour blends, but since I can’t have rice flours I guess I’d rather mix it myself! I love the GF Goddess, so many good ideas!

Leave a Reply

