Healthy Food for a Healthy Mood

You all have seriously overwhelmed me with love these past few days.  I can’t thank you enough!

I took another rest day yesterday, so I have a lot to say tonight… buckle up… here we go!

During times of stress or when I am upset, I tend to stress eat.   I do this in mass amounts of granola, starchy foods, peanut butter and jelly, and most recently no bake cookies.  🙂  All of these foods aren’t “bad” for you… they just aren’t good for you in the mass amounts that I eat them in.  It ends up making me feel worse, because not only an I upset but I also get a belly ache!

I think that eating well can not only make you feel better physically, but I think it does wonders for you mentally as well.  So, these past few days, I have been trying to eat really well… with some comfort food thrown in.

First things first… BREAKFAST.  I can’t tell y’all how important it is to eat something for breakfast.  I don’t have a problem with that, because it is my favorite meal of the day.

I started out with a Protein Black and Blueberry Muffin with lots of peanut butter on top.

Protein Black and Blueberry Muffin

  • 3 Tbsp buckwheat flour
  • 1/2 scoop protein powder (I used Sunwarrior)
  • 1 Tbsp chia seeds (can sub 1 egg)
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 1/4 cup milk (I used hemp milk)
  • 1/2 cup blueberries and/or blackberries (I used frozen)

Mix flour, protein powder, chia seeds, and baking powder in bowl.  Add in applesauce and milk.  You may need more milk if the mix is too dry.  This depends on your protein powder.  Plus, the chia seeds will absorb a lot of the milk.  Add in berries and microwave on high for 3 1/2 minutes.

Top with nut butter and fresh berries.

Look at that yummy goodness!

For lunch, I made Luvy and I Happy Herbivore’s Mexican Cabbage.

It was delicious!  Plus it gave me a reason to eat a ton of hot sauce, blue corn chips, and avocado!  Double score.

You all should try out these two recipes.  They are definitely healthy “comfort foods”.

For dinner, the other night I made split pea soup.  

This may be my favorite soup.  Plus it is great for spring and Easter.  Stay tuned for the recipe this week!

Anyone else out there stress or emotional eaters??

4 thoughts on “Healthy Food for a Healthy Mood

  1. oh yes, i can definitely attest to being a stress/emotional eater as well! this week has been better, but last week was NO good in that department. it’s something i’m constantly working on.
    all of your meals sound SO good!!! i want to try that blueberry microwave muffin. do you think i could sub whole wheat flour or brown rice flour for the buckwheat flour? i LOVE split pea soup! it’s definitely one of my favorites. it reminds me of my grandma because she used to make it a lot when i was younger. 🙂

    • I bet you could sub it for ww flour, however, you might need less water. buckwheat flour tends to absorb more water than ww. I have never tried it, so let me know how it works!! And if it fails… get you some buckwheat flour because you won’t regret it! 🙂

  2. All of these look so good! Last night after I worked out I tried your protein muffin, and it was so good! (except I didn’t have any cool fruit like you do!). I totally relate to the emotional eating … I hope you have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

