Scrambled Brains and Split Pea Soup

Does anyone other than me do really stupid things???

I’m sure I’m not the only one that does dumb stuff, but as you all know from my record… I’m a walking disaster.  So, Tuesday I had an appointment that was close to Whole Foods.  Since Luvy and I were right there, we decided to stop by and stock up on fish since we were out.  We bought 3 packs of salmon and 3 of tilapia.  We put it in our cooler bag and headed home with them.

Today, when I went to the grocery store, I realized that our cooler bag was sitting upright in the trunk.  I opened it and found this:

We forgot we had the fish!!!!!!!!   This only happens to us.  How did we forget the fish from WF to home???

Anywho, since we have scrambled brains… I’ll share with you all my split pea soup.  This is one thing that I don’t mess up!

Split Pea Soup

  • 1 bag split peas
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 3 med to large carrots, chopped
  • 3 stalks celery, chopped
  • 2 tsp thyme and cumin
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 10 cups water
  • 4 tsp Better than Bouillon or 1 vegetable cube

Chop all ingredients.  Spray a heavy bottomed pot with cooking spray.  Saute onion, carrots, and celery for a few minutes in your pot until they start to soften.

Add all ingredients to pot.  Salt and pepper to taste.  

Bring this to a boil.  Turn heat down and simmer for 1 hour.

This would be perfect for Easter lunch!  

Have any of you ever done something really dumb??  What is on your Easter menu???

2 thoughts on “Scrambled Brains and Split Pea Soup

  1. ummm like all the time! lol! One winter I left something in the trunk of my car, I think it was potatoes or something. I didn’t notice it until spring when it was getting warmer outside, and I couldn’t figure out what smelled so bad! hahaha At least you found it now!!!

Leave a Reply

