Blessings in Disguise

I did have the final Blend recap scheduled for tonight, but instead I want to get a little serious for a minute.  Hope you don’t mind.  😉

Life has been a little rocky lately, and a few curveballs have been thrown our way.  Nothing that we can’t handle or that is life threatening, but sometimes life just knocks you around a bit.

However, times like this reminds me of how much I am blessed with great friends and family*.

Friends who will text with me just to encourage me.

Friends who pray for me.

Friends who leave messages on my car when I’m at work.

Friends who let me dump my pain on them and help me carry the burden.

Friends who love me even when I am not at my best.

Friends who hug me, let me cry, and then help me put things in perspective.

Thank you for your friendship.  Thank you for loving me.

I want to leave you all with a song that has never left my mind these past couple days.

Laura Story
“Blessings”

We pray for blessings
We pray for peace
Comfort for family, protection while we sleep
We pray for healing, for prosperity
We pray for Your mighty hand to ease our suffering
All the while, You hear each spoken need
Yet love is way too much to give us lesser things
‘Cause what if your blessings come through raindrops
What if Your healing comes through tears
What if a thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know You’re near
What if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise

We pray for wisdom
Your voice to hear
We cry in anger when we cannot feel You near
We doubt your goodness, we doubt your love
As if every promise from Your Word is not enough
All the while, You hear each desperate plea
And long that we’d have faith to believe

When friends betray us
When darkness seems to win
We know that pain reminds this heart
That this is not our home

What if my greatest disappointments
Or the aching of this life
Is the revealing of a greater thirst this world can’t satisfy
What if trials of this life
The rain, the storms, the hardest nights
Are your mercies in disguise

You can hear the song here.  I highly encourage it.
Thank you all for always being there for me and encouraging me.  I don’t mean to be a ‘Debbie Downer tonight, but I’m not going to be fake on my blog.  Then I’m not being real or genuine, and then what’s the point???
I’m trying to see this as a “blessing in disguise”.  I just need help remembering that!
So, tomorrow.  Blend finale!  Be ready.
What helps you get through hard times?  
* I didn’t name anyone in this post, because you all know who you are.  🙂
17 thoughts on “Blessings in Disguise

  1. Thank you for this heart felt post. I am a big believer in gratitude and I am amazed when I recognize the blessing in things how it somehow can slack the pain…even a bit.

    Beautifully written. Take care.

  2. PS. Sometimes when times are really bad what gets me through is even just stopping enough to acknowledge they are bad and assessing what my needs are. I have a list I like to keep of things that help me get through the bad times. I work on this list when I am not in that bad time. I also try and learn about what might have helped when I am out the other side!

  3. My thoughts are with you for whatever life is throwing at you. Friends truly are the best and that rock in bad times. This actually reminds me of the song in Wicked – For Good. the lyrics say it all.

  4. We all go through ups and downs, but God will never give you anything that’s too hard for you to handle. The beginning of my year was pretty tough, and I got through it by staying close to my family and being nice to myself — meaning, I wouldn’t let myself get too stressed out over little things that wouldn’t matter in a few days. And it’s okay to cry…I know I do :).

  5. Hang in there!
    After the rain, there is a rainbow 🙂 One of my fave quotes (from a dove chocolate!) that I think about when I am down!!!

Leave a Reply

