Tropical Creamy Buckwheat

I have been having dreams about this since I had it for breakfast last.

Since you asked for the recipe and it is tropical…like my upcoming beach vacation, I though I would share my recipe with you all.  Here ya go Meg!

I have always been an oats or a buckwheat bake kind of gal, but for some reason I have been tossing around the idea of making creamy buckwheat for breakfast for a while.  I have a lot of raw buckwheat groats in my cabinet, and I don’t use them near enough. So, I thought an experiment was in order.

Tropical Creamy Buckwheat

  • 1/4 cup raw buckwheat groats, ground
  • 1 3/4- 2 cups water
  • 2 Tbsp coconut milk, plus some for drizzling
  • 1/2 Tbsp Xagave
  • 1/2 Tbsp PB2 (optional)
  • strawberries
  • blueberries
  • peanut butter or other nut butter to top

Start by grinding your buckwheat groats in a blender.  You don’t want them to be ground into flour, but you don’t want too many large chunks.

**Note:  This is RAW buckwheat groats.. not Kasha.

Put ground buckwheat, water, and coconut milk into pan.

Add in Xagave and PB2 if using.

Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 4-5 minutes.  Stirring frequently.  You may need to add more water during the cooking process.  Buckwheat absorbs a lot of water.

Stir in chopped strawberries and blueberries.  I used frozen blueberries.

Transfer to bowl and drizzle with coconut milk and top with some nut butter.

Enjoy!

I hope you all have a safe and happy holiday weekend!  🙂

What are your favorite breakfast foods?

Have you ever tried creamy buckwheat before?
8 thoughts on “Tropical Creamy Buckwheat

  1. That looks delicious! I had your blueberry oatmeal the other day and fell in love. It was the best I’d ever eaten! So simple yet delightful. Love your blog!

  2. I FEEL SO LUCKY AND SPECIAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀

    I loved you before Brittany, but now, oh my 🙂 My love has grown!!!! ❤ hehehehe oh my goodness! You are such a sweetheart! You can bet your bottom I'm making buckwheat for breakfast 😀

  3. I’ve never tried buckwheat before…but that looks soooo tasty! My favorite breakfast is generally oatmeal, unless I’m out at a restaurant and then I like pancakes, waffles, or french toast ;). Hope you’re having a great holiday weekend!!

  4. Pingback: Guest Post: Buckwheat Breakfast Cookies | Delights and Delectables

Leave a Reply

