Memorial Day

Happy Memorial Day!

First, I want to thank all the men and women out there who selflessly serve our country and protect our freedom.  I can’t thank you enough for your sacrifice and your family’s sacrifice.

We are so blessed to live in America!

Our Memorial Day was not really that exciting.  Well that is unless you call studying from the time you get up until late into the night tonight exciting.

IMG 0806

Look at all those books!  I mean really???

Don’t worry I wasn’t too much fun either.  I was mopping floors, dusting, and preparing the house for vacation.  Plus, I started packing…. so far all I have is the swim suits.  That’s a start!  🙂

IMG 0805

We sure do know how to party around here!  But hey.. at least we have something to look forward to, right???

This is Luvy’s very last week in class… for forever!  I may do a happy dance.

I know everyone is on edge that is in his PhD group, so I made them some of MamaPea’s brownies to help get through class tomorrow.  I wanted so badly to try one, but since they aren’t gluten-free, I refrained.

IMG 0802

We didn’t exactly have an exciting Memorial Day, but life will never be like this again.  I know the time that Luvy is putting into his PhD will serve him (us) very well in the future.  I am so incredible proud of him.

To help Luvy power through this weekend, we have been having some really good eats.

IMG 0790

Tilapia, corn on the cob, green beans, and asparagus.  At least we grilled out over the weekend!  🙂

IMG 0800

Millet, veggies, chickpeas, and Mama Pea’s Mmmm Sauce.  There is one thing that Luvy and I agree on… Mama Pea’s ‘recipeas’!  There is millet hiding under there!

IMG 0799

Eggs with spinach, nutritional yeast, and turmeric, carrots, and strawberry and pear spinach salad.  Plus some Rudi’s gluten-free bread for me.  TJ’s whole wheat bread for Luvy.

I may not be able to help Luvy study or sleep, but I can make sure he is well fed!  🙂

I hope you all had a great weekend!

Did any of you have to work today?

What did you all do to celebrate Memorial Day?

22 thoughts on “Memorial Day

  1. Wow! Those eats look SO good! Like so freakin’ good – and I totally agree on Mama Pea’s amazing recipeas. 😉

    And yes, I had to work today but now I have the next two days off. My weekend just comes a bit later than everyone else’s.

  2. Happy Memorial Day! Hopefully his studying will end soon, I know exactly how he feels:/
    I wanted to let you know how much I appreciate your blog, you’re a big help to me spiritually and encourage me through your blog to read and pray more! I’ve nominated you for an award and it’s on my blog post today so feel free to check it out! 🙂

  3. You are so sweet to make brownies that you can’t even have! ahhhhh! And I love your love and joy pictures on your wall – so cute!

Leave a Reply

