Guest Post: Buckwheat Breakfast Cookies

Hey guys!  Happy Friday!

Today, Luvy and I are travelling and hanging out with family and friends so I asked one of my favorite gals to post for me.  Jane has the BEST recipes!  If you all have never checked out her site.. you must!  She will leave you drooling.

_____

Hello, Delights and Delectables readers! I am Jane and I blog at The Healthy Beehive. I am so excited to be guest posting for Brittany while she and Luvy are soaking up the sun!

I love cooking and making delicious and healthy foods in the kitchen!. I haven’t always wanted to be healthy, though. Growing up, I don’t think I knew a single thing about what a calorie was, or what “healthy” even meant! My parents did serve us balanced meals (meat, potato, vegetable), but by the time I left for college I was really overweight.

One day, I just woke up and decided I wanted to lose weight, and I turned to Dr. Google for help! One thing I struggle with, even now, is that there really is no definition to what it means to “be healthy”. Is it vegan, vegetarian, low carb, low fat, low sugar? Everyone has their own definition! Over time, I think I developed my own definition of what it means to be healthy for me. I really believe that every single person needs to figure out what works for them. Everyone is unique and different, and I think that is what makes us special!

purple and yellow flower

(source)

Just like Brittany, I also eat gluten free – but also grain free. However, we also share a love for buckwheat!! I love cooking with buckwheat – because it is not a grain, it is actually a seed!

I made these breakfast cookies because they are something quick and easy to take to work in the morning. I also love the oatmeal raisin combination, but since I can’t eat oatmeal, this is my solution. I hope you like them!

m_IMG_2124

Buckwheat Breakfast Cookies

Print this recipe!

2 cups raw buckwheat, ground to a powder

1/4 cup arrowroot starch

1 tsp baking soda

2 tsp cinnamon (or 1/2 tsp allspice, cloves, and ginger)

1/4 cup coconut oil

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/4 cup sucanat

1 tbsp maple syrup

2 tbsp ground flax mixed with 1/2 cup warm water

2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup raisins

1/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Make the flax egg – in a small bowl, mix together the ground flax seed with the water. Set aside to let it gel.

In a coffee grinder or blender, grind the raw buckwheat into a powder. If you aren’t familiar with raw buckwheat, this is what it looks like. I get it at my local Whole Foods.

m_IMG_2103

I find a coffee grinder is the easiest way to grind this!

m_IMG_2109

Place in a medium sized bowl. Add in the arrowroot, baking soda, and spices and stir to combine. Add in the coconut oil, applesauce, sugars, and vanilla. Mix well. Add in the flax egg and stir again.

Finally, add in the raisins and shredded coconut, and mix one final time.

Spray a cooking sheet with nonstick spray. Wet your hands, and form the dough into cookies – I used 2 tbsp dough per cookie. The dough is a little sticky, so I found it was easier when my hands were wet.

(Yes, my cookie sheet is very much well loved!)

m_IMG_2118

Bake for 12-15 minutes. Remove from the oven and let cool on the cookie sheet 1-2 minutes, then remove to a wire rack to cool completely.

Makes 18-20 cookies, depending on size.

Enjoy!

m_IMG_2141

Thanks, Brittany for letting me post for you today! I hope you are having a wonderful vacation!

_____

Thanks so much, Jane!!  I actually have all these ingredients at home, so I’m going to make these when I get back!  Besides, cookies for breakfast… heck yes!

Have any of you experimented with gluten-free baking??

What is your favorite cookie?

6 thoughts on “Guest Post: Buckwheat Breakfast Cookies

  1. Good morning! Boy do I LOVE the taste of buckwheat and don’t get to eat it enough.

    Anyway I experiment with gluten free mostly on accident and you will see a lot of combos of gluten free and vegan. It actually can be a lot of fun but when things go wrong…they REALLY go wrong LOL! (Especially with baked goods). 🙂

    I swear everything tastes good with coconut in it.

  2. Yummy! I eat gluten free since birth so I’m pretty familiar with GF-baking, but it can still be difficult to get the ratio right. It’s pretty easy to bake either a brick or a sandcastle 😉 I’m definitely gonna try these! Thanks! 🙂 XO

  3. Pingback: Gluten Free Banana Bread Muffins Recipe - The Healthy Beehive

Leave a Reply

