Guest Post: Leaps of Faith

Happy Saturday!  Today, Luvy and I are going to our good friend Houston’s wedding.  He and his beautiful bride are so excited!!

I’ll share the details later, but today I asked a good blog friend of mine, Alex, to share with you today.  Enjoy!

_____

When Brittany asked me to guest post, I couldn’t help but beam! I love her blog and enjoy reading it everyday.

For those of you that don’t know me, I am Alex over at The Run Within. I am a 22-year-old recent college graduate. After spending my whole youth in MA, I started four years in VA learning the southern lifestyle. Now, I am starting a brand new job in DC in a week. I am a runner, sister, daughter, celiac, humorous brown-eyed girl.

We are all accustomed to change, sometimes change that is bigger than others. Life is full of it (change) either happening when you least expect it or when you need it the most. Whether it is by choice or fate, change is a part of life.

A phrase that I have carried with me and kept close is LEAP OF FAITH. I know you may have heard of this in the Rent song, but to me it means a whole lot more. A leap of faith is one that is not always easy to make, but necessary to do. Leaps of faith have an unknown ending in many cases. That result that you won’t always be 100% certain of. I have taken many leaps of faith in my life. I don’t regret my leaps of faith because each one has taught me more about myself and others. I think it is so important to reflect on those leaps we have all taken because that is how you grow.

  1. My leap of faith in recovery. March 2011 I entered inpatient treatment. After suffering five years with anorexia, I was living a meaningless and dare I say miserable life stuck in my ways. I needed a change, although I would have been the last to admit it. However, there was a part of me that knew life could be better, recovery could be worth it. I took that leap of faith and gave up all control. I entered the treatment center and never looked back. I am so grateful for that leap because I am able to stand here today and say I am in recovery. I could not have said that prior.
  2. My leap of faith in my job. If you had asked me even six months ago what I was doing after college, I would have never thought I would be in DC out of college. When I applied for the Elrod Fellowship at my school, I wasn’t really sure why I was applying. I knew in college I got so much out of my community service work, but never saw non-profit as a career choice. Working for Build sort of fell in my lap but I am glad it did. It is everything I could ask for, a mentoring opportunity to benefit disadvantaged high school kids. Who knows if I will do this for more than a year, but I am taking that leap and giving it a try.
  3. My leap of faith in opening up. I have always been a very closed off person. I was known by my family as always saying ‘I’m good’ rather than saying how I really felt. In order to build relationships though, it takes that openness with yourself and others. I started expressing my feelings, I started blogging and I asked for help when I needed it. We all need others in our life and I learned that this quality was not weakness but strength. Wasting life hiding who I was rather than embracing who I am is not worth it. I learned to be content in my gains, my losses and most of all content in just being me.

Leaps of faith are those moments you take on new challenges and try new things. I love hearing how people have taken their own leaps of faith and what they have received from it. Good or bad there is a lesson learned in these. I hope you all take those leaps of faith – life would be boring without them!

____________

Thanks Alex!

Have you all taken any big leaps of faith recently?

 

9 thoughts on “Guest Post: Leaps of Faith

  1. Pingback: Delightful Leap | The Run Within

  2. I took a leap of faith a year and a half ago when I quit one job before the other gave me full-time status. A year before that I quit one job before the other had officially hired me. I also took a leap of faith just by moving to LA and now I’m gearing up to take another by leaving it. It’s scary and crazy.

  3. Pingback: A Prick of Something | The Run Within

Leave a Reply

