I Like it Hot

Just not Thai hot!!!

I LOVE Thai food.  I wish so badly that I could make the Thai Green Curry taste as good at home as it does in the restaurant.  I swear they have some sort of magical fairy dust they use there that makes it so much better than mine.  

A couple weeks ago, I found this really cool Asian grocery store here in Louisville and though I would check it out.  I have been really wanting to try a more authentic green curry paste, so I was on a mission.

The second aisle I went down… green curry paste!  Score.  Plus, it does’t have fish sauce.  

IMG 1069

I read the directions carefully on the curry tin, and it said to add 1/2 the container for every 2 cups of coconut milk.  I did… and WHOA!  

IMG 1071

Too hot!  Luvy and I both love hot, but not Thai hot!

The second time around, I think I got pretty close to the real thing!

Thai Green Curry

  • 1 can full fat coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable broth
  • 1/4 can of Maesri green curry paste
  • 1/3 block of tofu, chopped and browned
  • 2 cups fresh broccoli chopped
  • 1/2 can baby corn
  • 1/2 cup bamboo shoots
  • 1 small red bell pepper, chopped

Bring coconut milk, veg broth, and curry paste to a boil.  

IMG 1072

Meanwhile brown your tofu in a skillet.  You don’t want it crispy!  

IMG 1070

Once mixture comes to a boil, add in tofu and the rest of ingredients.  Allow to simmer for 5 minutes or just until veggies are tender but not limp or soft.  Now is the time to test your curry and see if you want it any hotter.  This was plenty hot for us!  It leaves a nice hot afterburn!

IMG 1075

Garnish with fresh basil and serve with brown rice or jasmine rice.

IMG 1077

YUMM!  Enjoy!

Do you like Thai?

What are your favorite Thai recipes??  Share please!

 

 

20 thoughts on “I Like it Hot

  1. cody and i LOVE thai food! we used to go out for it ALL the time, and then i learned how to make it at home. i make it for us probably once a week! you’re right, that curry paste sure does get hot QUICK! haha. that would be so fun to have you and luvy close by so that we could all eat thai together. 🙂

  2. Thai food is one of my favorites although I eat less of it now (eating out less overall). I used to have this really good cookbook which I will have to see if I still have. It took some time, but there was a recipe to make the green curry paste itself. All the recipes took time actually, but I remember them being amazing.

  3. I love Thai Hot, but I’m a little crazy and I know it. It’s the New Orleans in me for sure. 🙂 I don’t really cook thai at home very often, although I really do enjoy the food. Love the looks of this recipe!

Leave a Reply

