Blueberry Buckwheat Yogurt Muffins

Happy Friday!  🙂  This week has flown by since Wednesday was a holiday!

I have been excited all week to share these with you guys!

Muffins are such an easy breakfast, because you can grab them and go!  However, they can get really unhealthy very quick.  These muffins are filling and moist, without all kinds of creepy ingredients!

All around the blog world, I have been seeing breads or muffins made with greek yogurt.  This made me extremely jealous!  🙂  Imagine my excitement when SoDelicious let me know about their Coconut Milk Greek Style Yogurt!!

IMG 1241

These are also very low in sugar.  I don’t like an extremely sweet breakfast muffin.  If you do, you will want to add more sweetener.  Luvy and I thought these were perfectly sweet!

Blueberry Buckwheat Yogurt Muffins

  • 1.5 cups buckwheat flour**
  • 2 scoops plant based protein powder (I used Sunwarrior)
  • 2 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 SoDelicious Vanilla Coconut Milk Yogurt
  • 2 Tbsp Stevia baking blend (or 1/4 cup agave or sugar)
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup + 2 Tbsp milk (I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk)
  • 1/2- 3/4 cup blueberries (I used frozen)

1.  Pre-heat oven to 350.  Mash your banana.  Then, add in yogurt, sugar, and milk.

IMG 1244

2. In a separate bowl, add all dry ingredients.

IMG 1247

3. Slowly stir wet into dry.  Batter will be thick.  Fold in blueberries.

IMG 1249 Batter will be thick.  

4. Pour into greased muffin tins.

5. Bake 25-30 minutes.  Check with a toothpick to test to see if they are done.

IMG 1252

Enjoy!

IMG 1255

**I have not tested these with other flours.  Buckwheat absorbs a lot of water and does not act like other flours.  Exchange at your own risk.  🙂

I’m off to hang out with my Daddy!  I hope you all enjoy your weekend!!

What is your favorite type of muffin?

What are your plans for the weekend??

26 thoughts on “Blueberry Buckwheat Yogurt Muffins

  1. These look wonderful (I agree with you on the low sugar thing – some things just don’t need it)! I just tested a zucchini muffin that went quite well.

    Have a great day with your Daddy, you are lucky to be so close to him!

    This weekend will mostly be Relay but the sun will be shining and I bet I will steal away other options as well. I will try and finish my homework today so I can enjoy the weekend!

  2. These look so delicious! I haven’t tried baking with the So Delicious greek yogurts yet but I eat them like they’re going out of style.
    I feel like I’m constantly finding recipes that I want to try but, since they use yogurt, they aren’t vegan. This is the perfect solution! I’m glad to hear that the substitution worked!

  3. These muffins look so good! I love muffins! I also love So Delicious coconut yogurt — but I haven’t seen the greek yogurt! I will have to look for it. Have a great weekend with your dad!

  4. Awwww enjoy your time with your Daddy, love 🙂 That made me smile 🙂

    This recipe looks great. I need a carb snack in the afternoon and would definitely make these for myself! Thanks

  5. I’ve been very wary about baking with buckwheat flour.. But, I’m looking forward to trying this! My fav part about muffins are the tops! I’m everyone’s muffin top stealer, so watch out :).

Leave a Reply

