The List: Introduction

Hey friends!  Sorry I have been MIA.  I have really been enjoying my time with my daddy.  More on that later.  🙂

On Sundays for the next few weeks, I want to talk about The List by Marian Jordan.  This is the book we are reading in our Sunday night girl’s bookclub that we have at my house.  I wish I could have you all over to my house every week, but since I can’t.  We can have a little virtual bookclub here.  🙂

Thelist

I know that most of you don’t have the book, so I will just highlight the major points.  As you all know, I am a Christian.  This book is written to Christians; however, if you are not a Christian this book will still have very relevant things for you as well.  I am open to discussion, and if you ever have any questions about something I post I am happy to answer them or find the answer for you!  Feel free to e-mail me at anytime at delightsanddelectables@gmail.com.

So, everyone get your cup of coffee (or tea), a couple of snacks…we always have snacks, and get comfy!

Okay, so I have to start out by saying that I love Marian Jordan’s writing style!  I feel like I am hanging out with an old girlfriend when I read her books!

The List’s introduction starts out by Marian recounting how she was running from her birthday that year.  She went as far as leaving on a plane and getting away from all her friends and family to try to “escape” her birthday.  On that plane ride, she comes to the realization that in her words, “it doesn’t matter where you go or how far you try to run, your problems go with you”.  Isn’t that the truth?!?!

Why was she running from her birthday you might ask??  Well it has to do with “The List”.  We all have one.

“The List” can go by different names but it comes down to the checklist you have for your life.  Things like graduating college, getting married to your college sweetheart right after college, climbing the corporate ladder and getting that large corner office in your company, etc.

For Marian, her birthday was so difficult, because her “List” was far from being checked off.  In her “List”, she wanted to be married at 24 and have a couple kids before 30.  Marian is single and this birthday just happened to be her 30th.  She states that all our of “Lists” haunt us in some way.

On this plane flight, Marian came to the realization that it wasn’t the time for a pity party.  No, that is how Satan robs us of our peace and joy.  Instead she prayed and ask God to speak to her.  She felt the Lord leading her to Ecclesiastes 3 “Everything is beautiful in its time.”

For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven:
a time to be born, and a time to die;
a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted;
a time to kill, and a time to heal;
a time to break down, and a time to build up;
a time to weep, and a time to laugh;
a time to mourn, and a time to dance;
a time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together;
a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;
a time to seek, and a time to lose;
a time to keep, and a time to cast away;
a time to tear, and a time to sew;
a time to keep silence, and a time to speak;
a time to love, and a time to hate;
a time for war, and a time for peace.
(Ecclesiastes 3:1-8 ESV)

So, whatever you are going through, just know that it is only there for a season.  What if this season just plain… well to be honest, sucks?  How are we supposed to make this season in our lives beautiful when we are miserable?  Well, God wants us to exchange our “List” for HIS LIST.  What is this supposed to mean?

Well, our lists are full of our desires for worldly gains, goals, accomplishments, and possessions.  God knows that none of these things will make us happy.  We can be married to a wonderful man and still be miserable.  We can climb the corporate ladder and feel nothing when we get to the top.  You can check off your “List” and be living your “dream life” and feel like you are living in a disaster.

God wants us to surrender our dreams and desires to Him and allow Him to direct our paths.  We don’t have to wait to get married, have kids, lose 10lbs, or get a promotion to be joyful.  Marian stated, “I’ve discovered that joy i snot found in some future state; it is available now for those of us willing to make the exchange.”

I’ll be honest with you.  There are things on my “List” that I have a hard time giving to God.  I know His plan is best for my life, and I’m learning to trust Him and His plan.

Do you have a hard time giving things to God?

Do you find yourself throwing a pity party instead of asking God for peace?  (Guilty!!!)

Are there things on your “List” you need to trust him with?

22 thoughts on “The List: Introduction

  1. Hmm…maybe I should re-think my 30 Before 30 List I started the other day. haha This books sounds right up my alley. Have you read Road Trip by Jen Hatmaker?

  2. I have a hard time trusting him with finding me employment. I pray about it all the time, but I know deep down I’m not 100% trusting him to help me out. It’s hard to explain, but that’s the best I can do for explaining it. Sounds like a great book!

  3. i can certainly relate to this! i think you know what is on my “list” right now and what i am currently trying to trust Him with. it sure isn’t easy all the time, but knowing that He is always there for me and has perfect timing for everything definitely is reassuring and comforting. love you girl! thanks for sharing!

  4. wow this book sounds amazing, I kind of feel that way sometimes. Like I should have done more by this age or I should be taking advantage of all I can do now. I totally get wrapped up in those thoughts I forget life is about living in the moment, things will fall into place just like God intended.

  5. I love this! I think everyone really has a list, even if it’s just in the back of their mind. I do believe that God has a plan for me, so patience is just something I need to work on 🙂

    • Caitlin – I fall more into the “spiritual, not religious” category and have REALLY “felt” this book. It definitely is a book for trusting in God and following in Jesus but I have been completely comfortable with it (I come from a Catholic background with some occasional more Christian based groups in adulthood).

      In my opinion even a reader not comfortable vocalizing “trusting in God” could start with “self” or “universe.” The author has quite a voice herself that you find yourself nodding.

  6. My favorite phrases in the book so far:
    “single season”
    “Every season of life can be brutal or beautiful – it truly just depends on the attitude we choose.”
    “beautiful heart”

    I think in short I am learning to celebrate every single way not a darn thing on my list happened – but so many things that were never on that list have! 🙂 I have been on this journey for several months now. I wish I had started sooner, but I am truly enjoying the process regardless.

    • I’m so glad you like it!! I’m trying to celebrate and make each season of my life beautiful. It is hard sometimes to enjoy the journey when you don’t get exactly what you want…

Leave a Reply

