Roots and Ramblings

Not too long ago, I went to a really cool place here in Louisville with my friend Kelly.  Not Kelly Ripa, my REAL LIFE friend Kelly.  I haven’t completely lost my mind and started having dillusions…yet!

Here is a pic of us from last night.  We met at Panera to work on our school stuff. 

IMG 1329

Isn’t she a doll???  Sorry boys, she’s taken!

Like me, Kelly is a foodie.  She knew of this really cool local place close to campus called The Root Cellar.  

IMG 1117

Roots is like a little self contained daily farmer’s market!   The sell all local items from produce, milk, eggs, and even local meat!

IMG 1111

The owner was nice, and he let me take all kinds of pictures.  

IMG 1112

IMG 1114

IMG 1115

I love supporting our local businesses and farmers!  I had just gone to the grocery so I had a lot of veggies, but I did make it out with several peaches and 2 doughnut peaches!!

 

IMG 1116

Doughnut peaches are my favorite!  I had my first one in London last year, and I’ve been hooked since.

Speaking of veggies, Luvy and I went out and picked our garden last week, and I think we got the end of everything.

IMG 1276

It has been so hot here, and we have had no rain that al of our plants are wilting and dying.  😦  I was really looking forward to all that butternut squash….

One other rambling before I call it a day… I JUST NOW figured out how to edit my pictures in iphoto!  Only 1.5 years too late, but hey… better late than never right???  

Technology and I are not friends.

Have you ever had a doughnut peach?

What random ramblings do you have for me today??…. and go!

21 thoughts on “Roots and Ramblings

  1. That looks like an awesome place!!! I wish I had someplace like that around here! Doughnut peaches? Is that a doughnut shaped peach, or a peach flavored doughnut?? lol!

  2. GIRL! I LOVE DOUGHNUT PEACHES TOO! You should have seen the smile on my face when I read that you are hooked 🙂 They are so fun and oh so tasty! 🙂 Congrats on figuring out how to edit those photos of yours too babe 😉 Well done!!! ❤

    One random fact????……

    I am on a plane right now? 🙂

  3. I am so behind. 🙂

    Doughnut peaches are common around here but I have yet to try one (too expensive for basically cute fruit. :))

    I SO wanted to see your banana pink squash make it! I don’t know how to make a garden work in heat like that though. It would take a lot of water and more babysitting than I think most of us have time for.

    I did get the List and will go back to that post later!

    My youngest sister is 19 today. I am 20 years older than her. How crazy is that?!

    Oh. One more ramble…off to acupuncture. Since we are fans in common. 🙂

    Have a great day!

    • I hope you enjoyed your acupuncture!! yay! Happy birthday to your lil sis! I bet you are the best big sister!!! I wanted some banana pink squash too, but maybe next year. It has been brutally hot for my garden this year, and I don’t have time to baby it like it needs. I hope you love The List!! She is very easy to read.

Leave a Reply

