Tropical Tilapia and a Challenge

Hey guys!  

This meal has been haunting my mind in a good way since I made it!  I love fresh, light meals in the summer, and this one has been my absolute favorite!

Since dad and Luvy were grilling steak kabobs, I didn’t really know what I wanted.  

I knew I wanted a salad/rice bowl.  I wanted lots of veggies.

I knew I didn’t want my typical rice and beans.  Plus, I wanted to use my Trader Joe’s Pineapple Salsa.

IMG 1316

Then it hit me… a tropical salad/rice bowl with tilapia.

Tropical Tilapia Salad

  • grilled tilapia
  • salad greens or spinach (I used spinach)
  • cooked rice
  • grilled or fresh veggies and pineapple (I didn’t have any pineapple.  BIG bummer!)
  • salsa (I used TJ’s Pinapple Salsa)
  • avocado (optional)—but highly recommended!

Put all your veggies on the grill first.  They will take a bit longer than the fish.

IMG 1314

Grill your fish in the last 5-6 minutes.  You don’t want your fish to be done before your veggies (or steak kabobs!).  

IMG 1318

Luvy is our grill master, and he always grills my fish perfectly!

IMG 1319

For the salad, put down a layer of greens and add your rice.  Top with grilled veggies (and pineapple) and fish.

IMG 1320

Top it off with salsa and avocado.  YUM!!

IMG 1321

I forgot to add my avocado before I took the picture.  Whoopsy… bad blogger.  This was so good and I was so excited that I’m surprised I took any pics!  

I have to figure out how to make pineapple salsa, because I didn’t notice it until after I had eaten it that this salsa is made in a plant with wheat.  So, it probably isn’t gluten free… whoops!  I got a bit of a tummy ache after, but I don’t know if it was just mental.  Do you every do that??

Okay, so I have a challenge for us.  It has been really hot, and I haven’t been drinking enough water.  I have noticed that I have been swelling, and my digestion has not been very good. 

SO, I am challenging all of us to drink 2 large glasses of water every morning before we eat or drink anything else.  This will help flush out our system and get everything moving.  If you want to add some lemon to this, even better!  

Who’s with me on the challenge??

Does pineapple salsa sound good to you?  Any recipes????

31 thoughts on “Tropical Tilapia and a Challenge

  1. now i’ll definitely have to make this tilapia salad soon! heavy meals have just not been sounding good to me lately with this heat, so this salad sounds perfect! i’m with ya on the challenge. i usually am a pretty good water drinker, but some extra water in the morning can’t hurt! 🙂 xoxo

  2. Kabobs are my absolute favourite thing to grill, they are so dang delicious!! I actually am pretty good with drinking water right after I wake up, I usually drink about 1/2-1 liter. Yah, I’m weird;)

  3. I love pineapple salsa! It’s so easy to do on your own – I like to add jalapeno, cucumber, and mangoes to mine.

    I do the water thing. My first glass has apple cider vinegar and either stevia or Fitmixer in it, and the second on I drink plain with all my vitamins.

  4. I keep a full glass of water on my nightstand at night, and I drink it in the morning before I get out of bed! It reminds me to take my allergy pill, and it helps me hydrate right from the start. I also like drinking green tea in the morning, it makes me feel healthy, haha.

  5. That looks LOVELY and delicious. 🙂 I will eat salsa on pretty much anything. My grandmother was a little confused when I started dipping celery and cucumbers into the jar…but whatever.

    I started focusing on drinking a ton more water a couple of months ago and it really does help you feel SO much better!

  6. Great challenge! I like it because I already do it 😉 Hehe! Your meal looks great hun! I definitely know what you mean by the simple, fresh, and light meals in the summer! Tilapia is perfect for that!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

