WIAW #9

Happy What I Ate Wednesday!  Being off on Monday for my birthday is helping this week fly by!

This month, Jenn is wanting us to talk about food and fitness.  I love both, so let’s go!!   I’m going to detail some* of yesterday’s eats and fitness.

Breakfast was a usual.  Blueberry and strawberry buckwheat bake.  

IMG 1432

Hey… if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it right??  😉  I think I still owe you guys my recipe… don’t I??

My morning flew by, and 3 hours later it was time for lunch.  Leftovers are all the rage here for lunch.

I had leftover broccoli dal for lunch.  Hit the spot!

IMG 1418

My snack was a couple of figs stuffed with almond butter.  I am addicted!

IMG 1435

I didn’t have a bit snack, because we were eating dinner early.

For dinner, we had enchiladas.  This may be the BEST recipe I have ever created.  

IMG 1403

Don’t worry I will share it asap.  It was Luvy approved for sure.  

After dinner, my friend Laura and I went to get froyo.  She is leaving for London this week, and I am going to miss her!!

IMG 1434

Those bowls for froyo are HUUUUGE!  I’m so glad that we got to chat for a bit!

So, you might be wondering… when are we going to talk about fitness.  It doesn’t look like to did anything today, and you are right!

I want to talk to you about REST.  That is such an important part of fitness that seems to be overlooked.  I know when I was training for my half marathon or in the height of my fitness days, I hated rest days.  I would consider doing a 20 min video “rest”.

Our bodies need rest days to recharge and get stronger, especially after a hard workout.  

How do you feel about rest days?  Do you take them?

What is your favorite way to eat a fig?

Would you like to hear more about my workouts?

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “WIAW #9

  1. Figs stuffed with almond butter? Sounds so good! Do you buy them prepared or make them yourself?
    Rest days are a staple in my workout routines; on the weeks I don’t take them, I’m fatigued, irritable, and just not myself. They’re vital! I think as regular exercisers, we struggle to allow ourselves that “rest” day but it truly can only help us in the end.
    I’d love to hear about your workouts!!

  2. I can’t wait for the enchilada recipe – Mexican food is my favorite!

    I’m bad about rest days – I get one a week and my trainer gets on to me for using it to play softball. Whoops!

  3. can you believe i’ve never tried a fig before? obviously that should change. i’ve just never even thought about them, and i have no idea how to eat them. is there any special way?
    also, i’m a HUGE mexican food lover! can’t wait for that enchilada recipe!

  4. I just had figs for the first time that were chocolate covered and they were amazing! I think they would be really good with almond butter. I need to try that. I envy your good day of eating…it looks better than what I had. 🙂

  5. I’m taking it super easy on the workout this week, and I definitely believe in rest days and especially rest weeks every once in a while to replenish those muscles and fibers! I’ve never had a fig, in fact I don’t even think I’ve seen one before…like at the grocery store. I’d definitely like to hear more on your workouts, I love hearing what others do.

  6. Can’t wait for that enchillada recipe. They look so good 🙂

    I do believe in rest days. I usually take one full rest day where I do nothing really @ all, and then one day where i’ll go for an hour or so walk.

    I’d love to hear more about your workouts 🙂

  7. Ohh, do I spy lentils in those delicious looking enchiladas? Yum! But I’m sorry, I can’t help but laugh at the green bean side…always good to add a little American balance to international cuisine, no? 😉

    I’m impressed with your “healthy” fro-yo choices…I can’t help it, I don’t even pretend like I’m going for the fruit…it’s ALL about the cereal and SPRINKLES!!!!!

    1. I don’t really plan rest days except for the weekends when the boyfriend is in town…although every now and then we’ll do something active like kayaking or hiking. We used to run together, but I hurt my knee a few months ago and was out for a while. Now I think his walk is my run pace! Lol But anyway, I believe in listening to your body 100%! I’ve been working the night shift now for about a month and I’m still trying to figure out how to fit in meals and gym time AND blog time during my waking hours. The other day, I woke up at around 2pm (after going to bed at about 8am) and I was STARVING so I fixed breakfast? lunch? whatever and then tidied up the kitchen a bit. After I was finished (and all I did was wash the dishes and sweep), I felt exhausted so I skipped the time I would normally designate for my workout and went back to bed for a couple of hours and I’m glad I did because it made SUCH a difference in how I felt during my shift later that day!

    2. I tried fresh figs for the first time last year and I just didn’t care for them, but give me a dried one and I’m all over that baby, especially if you slather it in Biscoff spread! 😉

    3. Yes! I love hearing what other people are doing in (and out) of the gym! You can never have too many ideas for new workouts!

    • I have never had a dried fig… must find those!! I so wish I could have the cereal in my froyo but it isn’t gluten free…. maybe I’ll take my own next time!!
      The green beans were a great touch huh??? I didn’t even think about that! I was just thinking…. I need something green. ha! So not Mexican at all!

Leave a Reply

