Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie

Just like my cousin, Kristin, commented the other day, no one can make chocolate peanut butter pie like my Aunt Dixie.  No one.

However, even my papaw said mine was pretty darn close!  That my friends, was my seal of approval.  My papaw is not one to sugar coat things.

Of course, I can’t share my Aunt Dixie’s recipe.  For that I might be banished from the family, or worse…  Plus, I can’t have the milk that it calls for.  With that in mind, I decided to go all out and just make it completely vegan.  Once I saw vegan chocolate pudding on Mama Pea’s blog, I knew that it was a sign I NEEDED to make chocolate peanut butter pie.  For years, I thought that I would never again enjoy Aunt Dixie’s pie because of my milk allergy…. that was until now!

Vegan Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie

  • pie crust
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 recipe of this chocolate pudding

Preheat oven to 350°.

If you are super woman/ man, you can use a homemade pie crust.  I have too much to do and I value my sanity during the holidays, so I used a Wholly Wholesome graham cracker crust that I got from Whole Foods.

Place your pie crust in the preheated oven for 10 minutes to brown.

Meanwhile, combine 1/2 cup of powdered sugar and 1/4 cup of creamy peanut butter in a bowl.  Mix well until it is well combined and crumbly.

Allow crust to cool while you whip up the chocolate pudding found here.

Place crumbles in the bottom of the crust.

Pour pudding over top of the crumbles.  Allow this to cool for 15 minutes or so.

You will have some pudding left over.  Feel free to use it however you like.  Personally, I ate it—all.  🙂

Place parchment paper or plastic wrap directly on the pudding so a skin doesn’t form over the pie.

Refrigerate for at least 3 hours before serving.  I like to make this the day before to allow it to completely cool and for the flavors to develop.

This pie is to die for, and it isn’t highly fattening or TOO bad for you.  It is a sweet after all…

I know many of you will be trying to diet for the New Year, but I have a better idea.  Go make some pie!

You deserve it!

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie

  1. Pingback: Zen Garden | Delights and Delectables

  2. Has anyone tried chocolate graham crackers instead of the traditional flavor? This pie looks incredible; thanks for sharing. The picture and directions look fairly easy to follow! I’ll give it a shot for my next dinner party since my husband loves peanut butter!
    -Shannon the Crumb Cake Queen

  3. Every weekend i used to go to see this web page,
    for the reason that i wish for enjoyment, since this this website conations genuinely pleasant funny data
    too.

  4. We hear how important getting your daily dose of vitamin and mineral rich
    fruits and vegetables are for proper body functioning and overall health.
    The majority of the vegetable recipes include carrots as one of the staple
    ingredients. Some of these juicer machines actually
    claim themselves as well, just by you adding warm water and
    turning on the juicer to let it run.

Leave a comment